teddy1_edited_edited.jpg

Meet Teddy

Location - East Yorkshire 

 

Hello everybody, my name is Teddy.

I’m a male Patterdale terrier and almost 2 years old. 

 

I’m neutered, chipped, vaccinated, wormed and flead.

I have quite as story to tell you all, so get comfy and I’ll begin. 

 

A few months ago I was running free, scared and hungry, on the moors. Then one day I was spotted by a lady driving past in her car.

After a few hours of persuasion, I eventually hopped into her car and the next stage of my journey began.

 

She took me to see a vet, I think that’s a doggy doctor. I was thoroughly checked over, had a drink and some yummy food. The relevant people were informed that I had been found, in case my family were missing me.

 

In the meantime I was lucky enough to be able to stay with my finder and her family. They took great care of me and we had lots of fun together.

 

Sadly my original family didn’t come forward to claim me, so, once I was confident enough, the time came for me to find my new forever home so I was given to the wonderful rescue people.

 

Could you be my new family? Offer me a warm bed, love, understanding and most importantly, education?

 

I have lived with young humans before and I enjoyed their company, so I’d be happy to live with them again. They’ll need to be aged 10+ and be dog savvy too.

 

As friendly as I am, like all dogs, I still like to have my own space sometimes.

 

There’s something called ‘recall’ that I do have when I’m in a secure field with no distractions. A tasty treat as a reward when I come back to you would be most appreciated! However, in other areas, I will need to stay on my leash and will need more training to learn how to not be distracted by dogs and furry creatures. Would you be happy to help me with this? It’s just the way I am. I’m a terrier after all. 

 

I’m sure you’ll agree that I’m a super little fella and because I’m so amazing I’d prefer not to have any other dogs steal my limelight. Therefore I would like to be the only dog in the house and no cats or furry critters either please.

 

Not knowing everything about my background, the lovely humans looking after me have done lots of assessments to see how I behave in different situations. I do have some basic training as I will sit when asked, especially if there’s a treat on offer! I walk well on my leash and don’t pull.

I didn’t realise dogs had to go to school! Do I go to the top of the class? 

 

I’ve had some very careful introductions and parallel walks with a couple of lovely lady terriers recently. I was happy for them to be there as they were respectful and not jumping around or being to pushy wanting to sniff me. 

 

There’s been times in the past when I haven’t liked other dogs I’ve seen and I’ve barked and jumped around on my lead. This is probably due to both fear of other dogs and also because I don’t know how to behave around others.  Socialising is a big part of growing up for any dog and it’s possible I haven’t had this from a young age.

 

I do need to learn about ‘doggy etiquette’ and I’d like a new family who are  experienced and confident to help me show me the ropes. A family who are able to recognise triggers and read my body language. I can’t talk like humans do so I rely on them to think for me and teach me what to do.

 

I’ve not bitten another dog or a human since the humans found me.

 

When meeting new people I can be a little nervous and I prefer to greet people in my own time. I’m more nervous of men than women, and may bark at first, but with patience and time I will eventually become your friend. 

 

I like having my humans with me all the time and I’m nervous when left alone. This is likely due to having been alone and scared before I was eventually found on the moors.

 

A home with someone around most of the time, who can help me slowly adjust to being left for short periods of time would be perfect.

I just need time and reassurance for me to understand that it’s not always scary being alone and that my humans will be coming back.

 

If you have the time and dedication to help me, can offer me a forever loving & secure home and meet the following criteria, then please get in touch with the wonderful humans looking after me.

 

1. Experienced & confident with terriers and able to help with my issues

2. Only dog in the home

3. No cats or small furries

4. Dog savvy children aged 10+

5. Secure garden with fences of at least 5/6ft

6. Someone home most of the day

PLEASE NOTE - only applications received in full will be accepted. You will be required to provide 3 virtual home check videos. See HERE for info.

 

Failure to provide all 3 videos will result in your application being rejected.

EMAIL US to apply for Teddy